The Iron Giraffe

This year, during Lent, I am sending a dollar for each mile I run to Water for South Sudan. I have wanted to tie my running to a charity for a long time, but couldn’t find a specific one that I liked, that I could trust. Also, I was running a LOT of miles, and so giving a dollar per mile would have been expensive. But now, I’m injured, recovering, and I can’t run as many miles. Of course, as I heal, I’ll run more, and then I will give more (God willing). So this giving and healing goes hand-in-hand. This is a growing edge for me, a new spiritual practice.

http://www.waterforsouthsudan.org/

The problem of drinking water in Africa, a place I consider our ancestral home, has always called to me. Then I read “A Long Walk to Water” by Linda Sue Park. It’s about Salva Dut, one of the lost boys of Sudan, who escaped from his tribal enemies as a boy and is now leading this organization to bring water to Sudan. He is a peace-maker. It’s a drop in the bucket; I know. But with God’s help, Jesus fed 5,000 with 5 loaves of bread and 2 fish. I am praying that Salva, with God’s help, will help many people. He’s already helping me.

My wife and I will be holding-organizing a run/walk on Holy Saturday (Easter Eve), starting and finishing near our home, about 2.62 miles long (1/10th of a marathon), with a free will offering to benefit Water for South Sudan. If you want to join us, consider giving a dollar for each mile of training you did during Lent, the amount you spend on beverages during a typical week, or what you happen to have in your wallet that morning. Also, consider reading “A Long Walk to Water.”I consider running a recreational activity, a way that I keep the Sabbath. And I recognize that my ability to run and my enjoyment of it is a gift from God.

I hope the run/walk will raise awareness of the plight of those who live in desert areas in Africa, and it is a way for people to engage physically, economically, and spiritually with this problem.

http://www.amazon.com/Long-Walk-Water-Based-Story/dp/0547577311/ref=sr_1_1

The logistics:

What: A 2.62m mile run/walk
When: 8:00 a.m. on Holy Saturday (Saturday, April 4)
aka Easter Eve, Good Saturday, Holy Sabbath
Bananas, Bagels, Water, Coffee, and Chocolate Milk after
Why: To benefit Water for South Sudan (waterforsouthsudan.org)

No bibs or entry fees. A free will offering will be taken up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

