Psalm 27

With acknowledgements, thanks, and apologies to the Indigo Girls (Welcome Me), Rush (The Weapon), U2 (Love & Peace), Scott Jurek (Eat & Run), and Eugene Peterson (The Message).

Psalm 27

1 The WIND is my light, my renewal, and my salvation.
The WIND is the stronghold of my life — whom shall I fear?
Not fear itself.
Not pain. Not failure. Not fatal tragedy.
Not the faulty units in this mad machinery.
Nor the mad machinery itself.
Not the broken contacts in emotional chemistry. [Rush]
I shall fear no one. I shall fear no thing.
I shall fear God: Yah-weh. LORD. WIND.

2 When the hucksters try to eat me for breakfast,
they will put their feet in their mouths; they will stumble and fall!
3 Though an army gathers around me,
though war breaks out against me,
though the troops have dug in [U2], my heart will not fear.
When the chips are down, I will not sweat it.
When I am out on a limb, I will quiet my worries.
When the haters get in my grill, I’ll give them a big smile.
When the naysayers throw a wet blanket on my plans,
I’ll clap them on the back.
My mind will be clear, because my trust is in the WIND.
I will be a pacifying weapon. [Indigo Girls]
I will breathe easy. I will be love. I will seek your path.

4 One thing I ask from the WIND, (this only do I seek)
that the WIND may dwell in me and that I may run with the WIND
all the days of my life,
I will seek God and gaze on the beauty of the WIND.
5 When the world starts caving in, God will keep me safe;
God will protect me with a reflective vest, so the cars will see me;
God will clothe me with an outer shell, so the weather will not faze me.
God will lead me on a highway where I can see the mountains and valleys.
God will set me high up on a rock where I can see the sunrise.
6 Then I will run – head held high, my back straight, leaning forward from the heels [Jurek];
at God’s sacred tent I will dance with shouts of joy;
I will sing and chime and dance and make music in the WIND.
My being will vibrate in the WIND.

7 Hear my voice when I call, O WIND; be merciful to me and answer me.
8 My heart says, “Seek God’s face!” (Your face, O WIND, I will seek.)
9 Do not hide your face from me; I am your servant;
do not turn away from me in disgust; You have been my helper.

Do not reject me, God, my Savior.
10 If my father and mother forsake me, the WIND will receive me.
If my wife scorns me, the WIND will pursue me.
If my kids misunderstand me, the WIND will justify me.
If my friends abandon me, the WIND will hold me.
If I lose my job, the WIND will sustain me.

11 Teach me your way, O WIND;
lead me in righteousness… because any false move will be pounced on.
If I fail to dot an i or cross a tee, it could be the end of me.
They know no mercy. (Let me be mercy for them.)
12 Do not deliver me into the hands of my foes,
for liars rise up against me, spouting malicious accusations.
And tricksters are at every turn, trying to get a rise out of me.
And lazy cheaters ask me for shortcuts… but there are no shortcuts.
You can run the tangents though. (Make your Way straight in front of me.)
13 I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the WIND
in the land of the living – in the here-now.
14 Look for the WIND, feel the WIND, and run with the WIND;
Listen for the WIND; be wise and calm and listen for the WIND.
Wait for the WIND; be strong and courageous and wait for the WIND.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

