Some thoughts on the “elimination of ego”

Relax toes. Toes, relax. (Repeat) [my cousin’s advice for a torn calf]
Caballo Blanco [from Born to Run by Christopher McDougall] is my co-pilot:
– Keep the antelope in sight.
– Easy. (Even.) Light. Smooth.
Cease striving. [Ecclesiastes] (Run by feel.)
Take it easy… Don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy. [The Eagles, Take It Easy]
I’m takin’ what they’re givin’, cuz I’m workin’ for a livin’. [Huey Lewis]
Granny gear, Jurek. Even effort, Eladio Valdez, III.
Om is the bow. Soul is the arrow. Brahman is arrow’s goal. [Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse]
Snakes and arrows [Rush, Snakes and Arrows] and dragon and river.
Rabbit and highway and hobbit and sea. [Lord of the Rings]
I am the gun. You are the bullet.
I got the power and glory.
And the money to buy it. [Talking Heads, Puzzlin’ Evidence]
Dead dog on the highway. Median cats are growlin’ at me.
I turn my lights on brighter. I’m countin’ through the night ride.
And it’s one more life… for the taker.
The man said, “It’s a long road to be forgiven.” [Indigo Girls, Chickenman]
Never his mind on where he IS. What he is DOING. [Yoda]
Take me to the river. Drop me in the water. (Dip me in the river.)
Take me to the river. Wash me in the water – the water! [Talking Heads, Take me to the River]
Just want one thing. Just to play the king.
But the castle crumbled, And you’re left with just a name.
Where’s your crown, King Nothing?
Careful what you wish. You may regret it!
Careful what you wish. You just might get it! [Metallica, King Nothing]
Watch out, you might get what you’re after! [Talking Heads, Burning Down the House]

One step East. Two steps West.
The river (in Siddhartha) teaches that there is no time. For the river, there is no beginning or end: it is all one. Even the water cycle is part of the river. The clouds and the ocean are beginning and end and end and beginning. How big (long) is your life?
Soft is stronger than hard. River is stronger than rock. Love is stronger than violence. The river to Sridartha is as the dragon to Merlin in Excalibur. They are so big that they cannot be perceived all at once.
Who is the archer? God?
An arrow (and (now) a bullet) is a man-made thing. It is made from simple elements. Some are works of art or made for ceremony. Once, they were usually, individually made. Sometimes they were passed from generation to generation. Now they are mass-produced and fungible.
Would it be sacrilege to name my bike Om?
Drink the coffee. Smelling it will do you very little good.
What are you aiming at? Are you aiming? Or are you letting God aim you?
Carnage on my run: turtle, snake, frog, antelope.
Is your destination home, work, or play?
Can running make me a better person? Can running make me a better dad?
What do I get from running? What do I need from running? Why run? Elimination of ego.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

