When you run, what are you thinking?

I’ve thought before about what I’m thinking when I’m running, but really didn’t think it was an interesting question. I’ve always thought, “That’s a question that non-runners ask runners.”

Then, I started wondering what people think I might be thinking when I run, or what they might think (and have sometimes told me) that they’re thinking when they run. A lot of times it seems to come down to “This hurts.” Or “How much longer do I have to do this?”

This made me realize that I’m often thinking “I can do this.” And that’s also why I enjoy running so much. And when I’m on a long run, I’ll be thinking “I’ve only got three more miles… So I better enjoy them.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When you run, what are you thinking?

  1. Katie H. says:

    Totally agree! I find myself thinking “Less than an hour to go–I can totally do that!” or “Wow, I’m halfway done already!”

  2. Carissa says:

    As a mother to a child with severe special needs– running is my sanctuary. I don’t plan, analyze, create or think much at all. It’s really the only time when my brain gets a rest! I honestly can’t recall much thought at all beyond my immediate simple reactions to the scenery, weather or terrain. I do listen to books, running podcasts or music at times– but most of all just look forward to the time alone and a time that I’m not being needed. I find the rhythm of my breathing and the repetitive footfalls very meditational and relaxing. Speed or hill runs I almost completely focus on form and making the small adjustments toward efficiency. I much prefer to run alone and count on the miles to bring me emotional, mental and spiritual health – even though one could say I’m not capitalizing on the time to “get things done.” I am- I am just being and breathing and letting go. Doing “so little” is so important for me and thankfully my family recognizes the benefits and are very supportive.

  3. Katie H. says:

    Hi! I just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. I love reading your thoughts on running–they often stick in my head and I find myself pondering them later in the day, or on my next run. Keep writing!

    You can check out the details here: http://fitbuttfabulous.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/one-lovely-blog-award/

Leave a Reply

